Ha! Tea 'n' Danger

Loving, caring, sharing, kindness, compassion, empathy, respect, equality, freedom, peace, critical thinking, logic, reason, understanding, science…

Sir Ken Robinson – Do Schools Kill Creativity?

2 responses to “Sir Ken Robinson – Do Schools Kill Creativity?

  1. David September 24, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    I loved this talk! That story about the little girl drawing a picture of god really moved me.

    Touching indeed. Can you imagine what it will be like when all children are brought up in such a rich environment, with true freedom of expression and encouragement to find all of the answers to their endless questions? Critical thinking taught strait from the crib. There are some amazing times ahead and we’re at the cusp of it. I am excited. I hope I get to watch this flower bloom.

    Peter Parkour

  2. pumpkin September 26, 2011 at 10:58 am

    “Frank sent this”…so funny! My son Andrew has been drawing since he was two. He started out drawing tow trucks, which is what his biological father used to drive. I remember him having a little magna doodle pad and he would ask me to draw him a tow truck. So I would draw him one and then he would erase it and draw his own. He has been drawing cars ever since. Just this year, he has discovered that he can draw other things, like skulls, grim reapers, people, eyes, and a lot of other things. He only learned that he could do these things because I told him he needed to try to draw other things, he always responded with “I can’t”. I told him he could do anything he sets his mind to! I tell all three of my kids that and always try to encourage whatever their interest is…Last night when Karalyn and I were making cookies she was trying to figure out measurements because we doubled the recipe. I kept asking her questions about measurements and she kept coming up with the right answers. She told me ” I never thought of making cookies as a math lesson.” We are making homemade bread tonight.

    My husband and I enjoyed listening to this man talk, he was very funny and interesting, thank you for posting this!
    Melanie

    So very glad you enjoyed, it as did I. He really has a way with words and makes a lot of great points. Sounds like you two do a pretty good job of incorporating learning into everyday living at home. That is wonderful. What a wonderful world it would be if/when we get everyone else awake to these kinds of thoughts and idea? 😉

    Peter Parkour

What say you?

