Ha! Tea 'n' Danger

Loving, caring, sharing, kindness, compassion, empathy, respect, equality, freedom, peace, critical thinking, logic, reason, understanding, science…

The Story Of Cosmetics

Would you ever put neurotoxins on a baby’s head?  Don’t be so sure you haven’t already…  on more than one occasion.

7 responses to “The Story Of Cosmetics

  1. thebeadden July 15, 2011 at 8:35 pm

    I already knew this, but I do hope more people get to see this video. One thing…it sounds great to get FDA approval…but how many things have they approved that end up being bad for us? Plenty! Sad but true.

    • Peter Parkour July 15, 2011 at 9:36 pm

      It’s no wonder more people aren’t aware of these facts. We all grow up with the products in our homes, never giving any of them a second thought. Only on the rare occasion when a certain item ends up in the news do we even raise an eye brow, and even then only for a moment. This one totally got me thinking about them all, questioning why we use the things we use at all. I’m such a purest at heart the my mind always goes back 200+ years and says to me “what did people do back then, before these products were even thought of”? I’m getting to the point where I try to question every aspect of my life. I think it’s a good exercise. Why do I do this? Why do I do that? 😉

  2. pumpkin July 16, 2011 at 10:05 am

    I didn’t know about any of this…I don’t use a lot of stuff though because of my skin allergies. I don’t wear makeup and I can’t stand lotions or hair sprays. I think the only things we use personally in the bathroom is soap, shampoo, conditioner, toothpaste and deodorant. Good to know all this.

    • Peter Parkour July 16, 2011 at 10:36 am

      Bunny and I are about the same way, but not due to allergies. 😛 We just don’t see a need for all that other stuff. It’s just spending more money to try living up to societies made up standards. Life’s not a competition and I’m in no hurry to get to the finish line. 😉 Glad I could help open your eyes a bit to the world around us. 🙂

  3. joanharvest July 24, 2011 at 11:22 am

    I too, already knew this. I did intensive research on this subject in 2005. I found out that even the so called natural products I was selling in my health food store were full of toxic chemicals. That’s when I got rid of hundreds of products and started selling only 100% chemical free products. At the time there weren’t many products like that either. Since then there are more and more products that are chemical free though you still have to be careful. A product will call itself organic or natural when it isn’t. There is an awesome website that has a database of 65,000 skin care products. They have rated every one of them by how harmful they are. It’s absolutely amazing and shocking.. Don’t ever use Johnson & Johnson baby shampoo. It’s awful.

    People need to be educated about this. I have written articles about this in local magazines and have even done a few talks about it. This is one of my passions: educating people when I can about what we put on our skin. All the average person knows of skin care products is what they see on TV. I’m really happy to see you get into this stuff, Peter.

    • joanharvest July 24, 2011 at 11:23 am

      I forgot to leave a link to the website http://www.ewg.org/skindeep/ It is worth checking out.

    • Peter Parkour July 24, 2011 at 11:45 am

      Awesome testimonial, Joan. It is so important to get these messages out to the people and I’m doing my best to do just that. It’s nice to know I’m in such good company. By the way, Bunny says “hi”.

      Thank you so very much for the link, and I’m glad to see they don’t just list the harmful products. Having a list of better quality products to choose from takes a little edge off of the “so what am I suppose to buy now” feeling.

What say you?

